avatar for Minister Cyrus C.Y. Chu

Minister Cyrus C.Y. Chu

Minister, National Science Council, Executive Yuan, Taiwan

Dr. C.Y. Cyrus Chu is the Minister of The National Science Council of Taiwan. Before he joined the government service in 2011, he was an elected Academician and Distinguished Research Fellow of Academic Sinica. His role as the Minister of National Science Council includes supporting theoretical and applied research projects, promoting research related incubation, and developing science parks. Right now Taiwan is pushing a field test ground for ICT-enabled future services, as well as the collaboration of cross-Strait clinical trial collaboration for new drugs and medical devices.

Dr. Chu, born in 1955, received his B.A (Law) from National Taiwan University, and M.A and PhD (economics) from the University of Michigan (Ann Arbor). Starting from 1985, he began to serve as a faculty of Economics of the National Taiwan University and a research fellow of the Institute of Economics of Academia Sinica. His research interest includes demographic economic, family economics, public finance, and economic analysis of law. He has published two professional monographs: Population Dynamics: A New Economic Approach (1997) and Understanding Chinese Families (2009), both by the Oxford University Press. These two monographs have been well-received by the academic community, and the latter has been Forwarded by Nobel Laureate James J. Heckman. Other than these, Dr. Chu has published more than 100 articles in professional journals including American Economic Review, Journal of Political Economy, Demography, Economica, RAND Journal of Economics, Review of Economics and Statistics, Marketing Science, Journal of Theoretical Biology, etc. He now serves as editorial board member of 5 professional international journals. In 1998, Dr. Chu was elected as the then youngest Academician of Academia Sinica. In 2003, he was granted the Presidential Science Award of Taiwan, and is still one of the only two recipients in social science and humanities award in Taiwan. He was elected as the member of the Third-World Academy of Science in 2010.