avatar for Dr. Carolyn Compton

Dr. Carolyn Compton

Dr. Carolyn Compton is the President and CEO of Critical Path Institute. Critical Path, or C-Path, works with industry, academia and nonprofit groups to engage in focused collaborative activities that involve prioritization of issues, sharing of data and expertise, consensus building, and publication. Specifically, C-Path drives consensus building to achieve product development tool qualification in order to increase the efficiency and robustness of regulatory approval.

Dr. Compton has a broad background in translational research, both in the discovery, pre-clinical, and clinical phases of medical product development. She is boarded in both anatomic and clinical pathology with a track record of leadership in medical innovation and practice. Immediately prior to her leadership of C-Path, she spent 7 years as the Director of the Office of Biorepositories and Biospecimen Research in the Office of the Director of the National Cancer Institute (NCI). She came to the NCI from McGill University where she had been the Strathcona Professor and Chair of Pathology and the Pathologist-in-Chief of McGill University Health Center from 2000-2005. Prior to this, she had been a Professor of Pathology Harvard Medical School, the Director of Gastrointestinal Pathology at the Massachusetts General Hospital, and the Pathologist-in-Chief of the Shriners' Hospital for Crippled Children, Boston Burns Unit for 15 years.

She is a Professor in the College of Medicine-Tucson Department of Pathology, and Clinical Professor in the College of Pharmacy Department of Pharmacy Practice and Science at the University of Arizona and holds a full professorship at Arizona State University in the School of Life Sciences (July 1, 2012). She is also an adjunct Professor of Pathology at the Johns Hopkins School of Medicine.

Dr. Compton has held many national and international leadership positions in pathology and cancer-related professional organizations. She is a Fellow of the College of American Pathologists and a Fellow of the Royal Society of Medicine. Currently, she is the Chair of the American Joint Committee on Cancer (AJCC), serves on the Executive Committee of the Commission on Cancer of the American College of Surgeons, and serves as the Pathology Section Editor for Cancer. She is a past Chair of the Cancer Committee of the College of American Pathologists and was Editor of the first edition of the CAP Cancer Protocols (Reporting on Cancer Specimens) used as standards for COC accreditation. Among her awards are the ISBER Award for Outstanding Achievement in Biobanking, the NIH Director's Award, the NIH Award of Merit, and the CAP Frank W. Hartman Award. She has published more than 500 original scientific papers, reports, review articles, and books.